2012 annual election results | PCC Natural Markets

2012 annual election results

election winners
(l-r) Newly elected trustees Sandy Voit, Stephen Tan and Maggie Lucas are shown here campaigning at the Issaquah store on May 5.

(May 22, 2012) — PCC's 2012 annual election began on Tuesday, April 24 and ended Thursday, May 17. The ballots were counted at a public meeting on Monday, May 21.

Stephen Tan was elected to his third term, Maggie Lucas was elected to her second term and Sandy Voit to his first. Complete election results are shown below.

On behalf of the 2011-2012 nominating committee, its chair Rick Riehle remarked, “A good many sincere, earnest and qualified individuals participated in the election process this year. Our thanks to them all. The members of PCC will be well served by our new and returning board members.”

Board of Trustees
View candidate statements & video »
* The top three candidates are elected to three-year terms on PCC's Board of Trustees.
Maggie Lucas* 1,709 votes
Stephen Tan* 1,654 votes
Sandy Voit* 1,352 votes
Art Scheunemann 640 votes
Nominating Committee
View candidate statements »
All four candidates are elected to one-year terms on the 2012-2013 PCC Nominating Committee
Tom Monahan 1,535 votes
Julie Tempest 1,468 votes
Janet Hietter 1,420 votes
Mary Simon 1,411 votes

Total valid ballots cast: 2,052 (4.278 percent of 47,958 active members)
Quorum required for board or bylaws election is 3 percent of active membership.

About PCC's annual election

A nine-member board of trustees directs PCC. Trustees serve three-year terms. There are three open trustee positions each year. An election is held each May to fill those positions.

The membership also selects a nominating committee in the annual election, choosing up to six members who serve for one year. The nominating committee recruits, screens and presents a slate of candidates to the membership for consideration in each annual election. The bylaws also provide a mechanism for candidates to be nominated by petition.

All active members may vote in all PCC elections. In addition to the annual elections, members may also vote on member initiatives or amendments to the articles or bylaws.

Quorums for all elections are set forth in PCC's Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws, Section V, Paragraph 4.


If you have questions about the PCC elections, please contact Janice Parker at 206-547-1222, ext. 126, or e-mail:

Thank you for your vote!

More about: election, membership

Related Content