2010 annual election results | PCC Natural Markets

2010 annual election results

ballot counting
(l-r) Sara Janus and Johnnie Bratrude were two of the PCC members who volunteered to count the 2010 ballots.

(May 25, 2010) — PCC's 2010 annual election began on Tuesday, April 27 and ended Thursday, May 20. The ballots were counted at a public meeting on Monday, May 24. Results of our 2010 election are below.

Janice Parker Theiss, PCC's Board Administrator, notes, “The election process requires a considerable investment of time and energy. The board thanks all the candidates for participating. We congratulate the winners and wish them the best as they begin their board terms.”

“The board also thanks our members for voting. It’s great to see how seriously our members deliberate about this decision. The candidates enjoyed meeting the members who came out to meet them at the annual meeting and at in-store candidate events.”

Board of Trustees View candidate statements & video
* The top three candidates are elected to three-year terms on PCC's Board of Trustees.
Katrina Basic* 1,382
John Sheller* 1,331
Bryan Pearce* 1,242
Jason Hamlin 697
Nominating Committee View candidate statements
All five candidates are elected to one-year terms on the 2010-2011 PCC Nominating Committee
Chantal Stevens 1,440
Diana Crane 1,429
Don Nordness 1,360
Janet Hietter 1,320
Rick Riehle 1,270

Total valid ballots cast: 1,794 (3.993 percent of 44,925 active members)
Quorum required for board or bylaws election is 3 percent of active membership.

About PCC's annual election

A nine-member board of trustees directs PCC. Trustees serve three-year terms. There are three open trustee positions each year. An election is held each May to fill those positions.

The membership also selects a nominating committee in the annual election, choosing up to six members who serve for one year. The nominating committee recruits, screens and presents a slate of candidates to the membership for consideration in each annual election. The bylaws also provide a mechanism for candidates to be nominated by petition.

All active members may vote in all PCC elections. In addition to the annual elections, members may also vote on member initiatives or amendments to the articles or bylaws.

Quorums for all elections are set forth in PCC's Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws, Section V, Paragraph 4.


If you have questions about the PCC elections, please contact Janice Parker at 206-547-1222, ext. 126, or e-mail:

Thank you for your vote!

More about: election, membership

Related Content