People who are allergic to the proteins in dairy products and some people who are highly intolerant to lactose (the sugar in dairy products) have to eat a dairy-free diet. A dairy-free diet contains no milk, cheese, butter, cream cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream, ice cream, whey, casein, or foods that contain any of these ingredients.
- Understand the difference between lactose intolerance and dairy protein allergy. Knowing which problem you have will help you know how strict to be with your dairy-free diet.
- Learn the scientific terms for milk or dairy products and read food labels to verify that they are dairy-free before you consume them.
Best bets: Milk substitutes like soy milk, rice milk, nut milks, and milk-free products like soy cheese and rice ice cream
Copyright © 2013 Aisle7. All rights reserved. Aisle7.com
The information presented in Aisle7 is for informational purposes only. It is based on scientific studies (human, animal, or in vitro), clinical experience, or traditional usage as cited in each article. The results reported may not necessarily occur in all individuals. Self-treatment is not recommended for life-threatening conditions that require medical treatment under a doctor's care. For many of the conditions discussed, treatment with prescription or over the counter medication is also available. Consult your doctor, practitioner, and/or pharmacist for any health problem and before using any supplements or before making any changes in prescribed medications. Information expires June 2014.